Everyone's an engineer now.

A virtual pub for off topic, light hearted pub related banter and discussion. No trainers
ReformedCharacter
Lemon Quarter

Everyone's an engineer now.

Post by ReformedCharacter »

I hold engineers in high respect, they've created much of the modern world. But to my mind an engineer is someone with a degree, or similar, in some form of engineering. When I worked in IT doing client visits the 'phone staff would frequently refer to us as 'engineers' which we weren't, technicians would have been a more accurate description. Last year we had some windows fitted and I called the company who fitted them because one needs adjusting. A reply came stating that 'one of our engineers will be in touch...'. So now window-fitters are 'engineers'. Seems all wrong to me :)

RC

XFool
The full Lemon

Re: Everyone's an engineer now.

Post by XFool »

ReformedCharacter wrote:I hold engineers in high respect, they've created much of the modern world. But to my mind an engineer is someone with a degree, or similar, in some form of engineering. When I worked in IT doing client visits the 'phone staff would frequently refer to us as 'engineers' which we weren't, technicians would have been a more accurate description. Last year we had some windows fitted and I called the company who fitted them because one needs adjusting. A reply came stating that 'one of our engineers will be in touch...'. So now window-fitters are 'engineers'. Seems all wrong to me :)
I think the word "technician" is likely dying out. I feel these distinctions are simply unknown to most people now. "If you've got an ology, you're a scientist!"

Wait long enough and window fitters may yet end up as "scientists".

Lanark
Lemon Quarter

Post by Lanark »

Burger flippers are now Burger Technicians
Hair colourists are now Colour Technicians

No doubt checkout operators will soon be called Checkout Doctors.